Review: The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski

Monday, 13 January 2014





Book: The Paradox of Vertical Flight

Author: Emil Ostrovski

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Pages: 272 Pages

Format: Hardcover

Source: Gifted to me.

Where to Buy: IndigoAmazonBook Depository

Goodreads Summary
What happens when you put a suicidal eighteen-year-old philosophy student, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend, and his newborn baby in a truck and send them to Grandma's house? This debut novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Jay Asher.
On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, philosophy student and high school senior Jack Polovsky is somewhat seriously thinking of suicide when his cell phone rings. Jack's ex-girlfriend, Jess, has given birth, and Jack is the father. Jack hasn't spoken with Jess in about nine months—and she wants him to see the baby before he is adopted. The new teenage father kidnaps the baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Wal-Mart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and the ex-girlfriend. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates about Homer, Troy, Aristotle, the real Socrates, and the Greek myths—because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. Funny, heart-wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fate, fatherhood, and myth.

I connected with this book. I don't know if it's because I just needed a story like this one, one that was though provoking, laugh out loud funny, and heartbreaking all at once, or because I fully understood the main character Jack. I don't know why I really connected with him. It could be because we are the same age, soon to be graduating. We have both made stupid mistakes and push other people away sometimes as well. Or maybe it's just because we have no idea what we're doing with our lives.

Jack's story gave me a lot of hop in a way. He showed me how important it is to be passionate, and how sometimes, it's okay to love things a little too much. The way he described loving Socrates, Jess, Tommy, and Bob made me feel like I was witnessing a very private moment in his mind. I felt so close to him, in such a meaningful way.

Emil Ostrovski is such a wonderful story teller, creating characters that leap off the page with realism, and a plot that was fast, entertaining, and just fanatical enough that whenever I picked this book up, I laughed a little saying, 'what is even going on' every time. He has created a story filled with lessons about being young and stupid and in love, and it's a story  that's going to stay with me for a long time.

I have definatley found a new favourite. If you're in the mood for some wonderful contemporary, reading Paradox of Vertical Flight. 6/5 stars.

-Indigo
@indigo

No comments:

Post a Comment